Walnut Creek, CA Chiropractor | Chiropractor in Walnut Creek, CA

Back to main site

Shadelands Chiropractic

Joseph A. Baratta, DC

Check out additional Reviews here!


Weekly Health Update

Week of: Monday, February 12th, 2018
 
Courtesy of:
Joseph Baratta, D.C.

2815 Mitchell Dr. #101
Walnut Creek, CA 94598
(925) 930-9522
 
“The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.”
~ e. e. cummings
 
 
Mental Attitude: Entitled Individuals Think Differently. 
People who have a strong sense of entitlement think rules don’t apply to them. Researcher Dr. Emily Zitek explains, “[These individuals] don't think it's fair for other people to tell them what to do… Instructions are essentially an unfair imposition. They want to do their own thing. They feel like they deserve good things and special treatment… The fundamental problem here is that entitled individuals think they deserve more than other people think they do.” 
Social Psychological and Personality Science, December 2017
Health Alert: Asthma in America Costs Billions. 
Based on an analysis of medical expenses and costs associated with work and school absences and deaths between 2008 and 2013, federal health officials say that the economic cost of asthma in the United States is almost $82 billion per year. However, the actual cost of asthma is most likely underestimated because the study did not include individuals with untreated asthma. Lead author Dr. Tursynbek Nurmagambetov writes, “Cost studies can influence health policy decisions and help decision makers understand the scale, seriousness and implications of asthma so that resources can be identified to improve disease management and reduce the burden of asthma. [The findings show] the critical need to support and further strengthen asthma control strategies.” 
Annals of the American Thoracic Society, January 2018
Diet: Eat More Fruits & Veggies! 
Adults who consume at least seven servings of fruits and vegetables per day are less likely to be overweight or obese than men and women who eat six or fewer servings of produce each day. 
Obesity Science & Practice, December 2017
Exercise: Get the Family Involved to Get Active. 
With today’s busy schedules, it can be difficult for family members to meet physically activity recommendations. The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute suggests the following to get more active: schedule family exercise after dinner, on weekends, or during other blocks of free time; stay motivated by joining an exercise group or by having your kids participate in community sports; and engage in activities that don't depend on good weather, such as indoor cycling, indoor swimming, stair climbing, rope skipping, and dancing. 
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, January 2018
Chiropractic: Smoking Increases Risk for Chronic Back Pain. 
Based on surveys completed by 213 men and women over the age of 50, researchers found that smokers are 2.59 times more likely to suffer from chronic low back pain (CLBP) than nonsmokers. 
Asian Spine Journal, December 2017
Wellness/Prevention: Talking To Children About Divorce. 
When it comes to divorce, it’s important to be open and honest with children. The American Academy of Pediatrics offers the following suggestions for divorcing parents: keep communication clear and simple; do not promote the idea that the divorce is the child's fault or that the child can help rectify the situation; reassure the child that they will be safe; mention that mom and dad will both be happier; and emphasize that there will be two homes in which the child will be loved. 
American Academy of Pediatrics, January 2018
Monthly Pain Relief Updates
 
 
For Instant Information On
Any Of the Following, Click Below:
           
  Back Pain Back Pain
Fibromyalgia Fibromyalgia  
           
  Headaches Headaches
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
           
  Whiplash Whiplash
Chiropractic Chiropractic  
           
  Whiplash Neck Pain
Whiplash Whole Body Health
     
           
 
Feel Free To Forward This Email To A Friend!
Joseph Baratta, D.C.
2815 Mitchell Dr. #101
Walnut Creek, CA 94598
(925) 930-9522
If A Friend Forwarded This Email To You And You'd Like To
Receive A Copy Each Week In Your Inbox, Click Here.
 
 
This information should not be substituted for medical or chiropractic advice. Any and all health care concerns, decisions, and actions must be done through the advice and counsel of a health care professional who is familiar with your updated medical history.
These "Weekly Health Updates" are exclusively for friends and patients
of Dr. Joseph Baratta.

Weekly Health Update Archives

More Reviews Here!

Robin T *****

1/5/2018

I have been going to Dr Baratta for about 25 years. So 25 years ago I had a bout with my back I mean couldn't get out of bed. It was a Sunday and my husband was in the yellow pages looking for a chiropractor luckily Dr Baratta is in the front of the alphabet so it didn't take long to find him. Anyway he said to meet him at his office in 30 minutes we did he fixed the problem and he didn't even charge us extra for a Sunday. Ever since we've been with him. He's an excellent chiropractor always feel listened to and he's always honest like when my back is in bad shape he'll say come in 3 times a week but now it's better still not quite perfect and he'll say every two weeks I never feel like he's trying to make money. He always has gone above and beyond and has always fixed whatever problem I have had with my back

 


 

Bonnie S *****

1/3/2018

Dr. B is great Chiropractor. I began seeing him a few years ago after being scared away from Chiropractic medicine by a poor Doctor. Other recommendations sent me to his door. After years of abuse to my back I found it hurt to sit, stand, or walk without pain. I'm virtually pain free unless I do something bad. Dr. B keeps everything level, an stretched an more mobile, allowing me to walk 3+ miles a day an bike 45 miles per week I am 68 years young. The office staff is always friendly and professional. Dr. B also treats my husband and neighbors. I highly recommend Dr. Baratta. A very happy mobile pain free client!!

 


 

Courtney W *****

1/3/2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Baratta's since 2012. Dr. Baratta has helped to relieve chronic pain issues including neck and back pain, and debilitating headaches. He always takes the time to be present and communicate. Dr. Baratta is excellent!

 


 

Dave B *****

9/22/2017

Dr. Baratta is the best chiropractor in the area! I went to see Dr. Baratta for preventive measures. I did not have much pain, but with my profession back problems are a real issue. Dr. B was thorough and knowledgeable during my appointment. After his adjustment, I left his office with improved posture and flexibility. Dr. Baratta gave me advice to remain healthy during work and was genuinely concerned with my health.

10/10 would recommend!

                                                                                
               

 

SHADELANDS CHIROPRACTIC

JOSEPH A. BARATTA, D.C.

2815 MITCHELL DR., #101

WALNUT CREEK, CA. 94598

(925) 930-9522

 

 

Providing Superior Health and Balance Through Chiropractic

'Chiropractic care is more than just making the pain disappear. It is about learning, understanding and taking care of your body to improve your quality of life.'

Dr. Joseph Baratta is one of the longest practicing chiropractors in Walnut Creek, California.  For 30 years, he has been helping patients of all ages live healthier, pain-free lives through his gentle therapeutic care, and is known for his compassionate and sincere bedside manner.

Proudly serving the communities of Walnut Creek, Concord, Clayton, Pleasant Hill, Martinez and surrounding areas!

 

 Please leave us a review on Yelp too!


Contact Us

Please do not submit any Protected Health Information (PHI).